2016 IPL Final Sunrisers Hyderabad Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

2016 IPL Final: Sunrisers Hyderabad Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

2016 IPL Final: Sunrisers Hyderabad Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore: IPL 2022 has reached its final stage. Its final (IPL Final 2016) is to be played today on 29th May. In the final, the newly formed team Gujarat Titans faces the first tournament champion Rajasthan Royals (Gujarat Titans vs Rajasthan Royals). It is a coincidence that the IPL final was played exactly 6 years ago.

2016 IPL Final RCB Vs SRH – Match Highlights

The match played on 29 May 2016 was very exciting, in which Royal Challengers Bangalore remained 7 runs short of the target despite scoring 200 runs. There are many similarities between the IPL finals of 2016 and 2022.

2016 IPL Final Match Info

Match: RCB vs SRH, Final, Indian Premier League, 2016
Date: Sunday, May 29, 2016
Time: 8:00 PM
Venue: M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena, Bruce Oxenford
Third Umpire: Anil Kumar Chaudhary
Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle

Royal Challengers Bangalore Squad


Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul (wk), Shane Watson, Stuart Binny, Yuzvendra Chahal, Sachin Baby, Iqbal Abdulla, AB de Villiers, Chris Jordan, Sreenath Aravind.


David Wiese, Vikramjeet Singh Malik, Abu Nechim, Kane Richardson, Varun Aaron, Kedar Jadhav, Tabraiz Shamsi, Mandeep Singh, Vikas Tokas, Harshal Patel, Travis Head, Sarfaraz Khan, Praveen Dubey, Akshay Karnewar, Parvez Rasool.

Support Staff

Sunrisers Hyderabad Squad


David Warner (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Moises Henriques, Yuvraj Singh, Bipul Sharma, Deepak Hooda, Naman Ojha (wk), Ben Cutting, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Barinder Sran, Mustafizur Rahman.


Trent Boult, Tirumalsetti Suman, Abhimanyu Mithun, Karn Sharma, Siddarth Kaul, Eoin Morgan, Kane Williamson, Aditya Tare, Ashish Reddy, Ricky Bhui, Vijay Shankar.

Sunrisers Hyderabad Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore:

The final of IPL 2016 was played on 29 May between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore (Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers Hyderabad) in Bengaluru. Hyderabad captain David Warner won the toss and decided to bat first.

Warner, who was in form, played a brilliant innings of 69 runs in 38 balls while leading from the front in the important match. He got good support from Yuvraj Singh (38), Ben Cutting (39) and Shikhar Dhawan (28). In this way, Sunrisers Hyderabad scored a huge score of 208 runs in the final.

2016 IPL Final

The Bangalore team, adorned with veterans, made a great start while chasing a big target. Captain Virat Kohli along with fellow opener Chris Gayle scored 114 runs in 10.3 overs. This pair broke due to the dismissal of Gayle, who was out after scoring 76 runs on 38 balls. The second blow to the team was Virat’s dismissal, but by then the score had reached 140. Kohli was out after scoring 54 runs in 35 balls.

When Virat Kohli was out, Royal Challengers Bangalore were 69 runs away from the target and had 43 balls left to achieve it. AB de Villiers and KL Rahul were at the crease and Shane Watson was yet to come on the field. This was a situation which could have easily turned into victory, but IPL is known for uncertainty. The fun of IPL is that what is expected may not be fulfilled and the seemingly impossible task may get done. The same happened in the 2016 final as well.

RCB Could Not Score 69 Runs In Last 43 Balls

Despite the presence of AB de Villiers, KL Rahul, and Shane Watson, Royal Challengers Bangalore could not score 69 runs in the last 43 balls. KL Rahul and Watson were out after scoring 11-11 and AB after scoring 5 runs. Stuart Binny (9), Chris Jordan (3) and Iqbal Abdullah (4) also left after telling the story of Aayiram-Gayaram.

The struggle of Sachin Baby (18 not out) also did not help Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad made a wonderful comeback and won the match by 8 runs.

In 2016, Royal Challengers also had a chance to win their first title IPL, but it failed. This time the second team in the final was Rajasthan Royals. If they win, they will become the champion for the second time. The Hyderabad team was in front of Bangalore in the 2016 final. Only Hyderabad had captured the trophy then.

This was the second title of the Hyderabad franchise. However, he won these titles under different names. For the first time in 2009, when the Hyderabad team won the final, its name was the Deccan Chargers. When it became champion for the second time, its name was Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Read More:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *